DailyOperating time: 06.00 - 18.00
Amphoe Mueang, Nan
Tel. 0 5475 1846.
Category : Temple
Attraction Details :
Wat Phrathat Chae Haeng is a sacred place to worship, situated on the eastern side of the Nan River which was the former center of the Nan town after moving from Pua town. Wat Phra Borommathat Chae Haeng was constructed during the rule of Chao Phraya Kanmueang (1326 – 1359 A.D.).
The bell shape of Phrathat Chae Haeng is assumed to have been influenced by the Pratat Hariphunchai in Lumphun. It is plated with Thong Changko or Thong Dok Buap – a combination of brass and copper. The staircase to Phrathat is in a Naga shape, while the gable above the entrance gate to the wihan (Buddhist chapel) is the stucco relief depicting intertwined Nagas, the unique characteristic of Nan fine art.
Phra Borommathat Chae Haeng represents the Year of the Rabbit in Lunar Year. Lanna people believe that travelling to pay respect to the Phrathat of their Year of Birth or “Chu That” would reap them the great prosperity.
Opening hours: 6am-6pm
Contact: 0 5475 1846
To get there: Wat Phrathat Chae Haeng is located in Muang Tuet sub-district, King Amphoe Phu Phiang. From the centre of Mueang district, cross the Nan River Bridge and go along the Nan – Mae Charim route or on Highway No. 1168 for 3 kilometers.